gas & electric

We got our first gas and electric bills this week. I was a little surprised by them. Our house has gas heat and it was fairly warm this month (highs in the 40s and 50s). The bill was only for 2 weeks, but it was only $30! I was shocked that it was so cheap. We also got our first electric bill. I was shocked that it was $145 (for one month). I thought it would be way less. We never have any lights on during the day and at night we only have lights on in the room we were in. The TV is on a lot and the computers are on too, but that is it. I was expecting it to be about $50 or so since we don’t use a lot of electricity (at least I thought we didn’t). Anyone else care to share what your electric and gas bills were recently so I can compare. Also tell me if you leave all the lights on or not. We have our 30 day check up on Monday. I have a list of stuff that needs fixed. I will post about that next week.

7 responses

  1. BD

    Wow…that seems very high for just 2 weeks. Are you sure they got the cutover to you as the owner correct.

    April 8, 2011 at 1:00 am

  2. BD

    btw…I believe ThriftyAmy posted her first utility bills on her blog.

    April 8, 2011 at 1:03 am

  3. 2011

    I agree, I would make sure the switch over date was correct.

    April 8, 2011 at 2:54 am

  4. alissa

    Our electric was about $45 for about 3 weeks I believe, but our usage is way less than ordinary because only my fiance is living there full-time, and we just got our washer/dryer this week. We do have a dehumidifier running in the basement at all times so I’m assuming that’s where a chunk of our cost is coming from. But our bill did have the switchover dates on there…make sure that yours does!

    April 8, 2011 at 3:06 am

  5. That does seem high. Do you have an electric water heater? We’ve always had gas water heaters in the past but the new house will be electric so that’s something else to include in the bill. However, I would definitely check the cut over date as others suggested…or check to see if they’re charging you some kind of new customer deposit.

    April 8, 2011 at 4:10 pm

  6. megan

    We just received our electric bill and it is $117 for, I’m guessing, about three weeks. I thought it would be less too. I have three kids though and we do A LOT of laundry.

    April 8, 2011 at 8:46 pm

  7. k m

    Our gas and electric were both a little over $100 for the first month. Once was $100 and change and the other was $103.

    April 9, 2011 at 1:04 am

Leave a Reply

